Subscribe Now!

$30US/Yr
$35 Cdn/Yr
(+GST or HST on Cdn only)


Save Over 33% Off the Cover Price!

ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES

Web Sites Worth Surfing: Update

Over the years, we have profiled more than 200 websites in our popular Web Sites Worth Surfing feature. However, several websites that have been profiled no longer exist or have moved to new URLs. We have reviewed past Websites Worth Surfing, and list the website’s name, the current URL and the issue of Family Chronicle in which it was originally featured (ND02 is Nov/Dec 2002). Websites marked with a heart symbol were selected as an Editor’s Pick in their original form.

101+ Fun Family History Activities for Kids www.geocities.com/genealogy4kids/genealogy4kids.html ND02
American Memory www.memory.loc.gov MA02
Amy’s Wide World of Relatives www.newulmtel.net/~jatakuck/ MA01
Ancient Faces www.ancientfaces.com MA01
Articles by T.S. Lamb www.tegger.net/genealogy/articles/1997-1999/index.htm MA98
Books We Own www.rootsweb.com/~bwo/ ND97
CensusLinks censuslinks.com/ ND99
Center for Life Stories Preservation www.storypreservation.com JF02
Diagnosis: Geneaholic members.tripod.com/~bayoujac/dg.html MJ99
Dynamic Family Tree www.dftcom2.co.uk/ JF02
Ellen Payne Odom Genealogy Library Family Tree www.electricscotland.com/familytree/ JF99
Family History Radio www.familyhistoryradio.com JA02
Family Preserves www.familypreserves.com SO04
FamilyReunion.com familyreunion.com/ MA99
FamilySearch www.familysearch.org/ JA99, SO00, JF01, ND01
Free-B-Kins www.mayflowerfamilies.com/freebkins/ JA98
FreeGenealogy Stuff www.kindredtrails.com/free_genealogy_stuff.html JA03
Genealogy Blog www.genealogyblog.com MJ04
Genealogy Branches www.genealogybranches.com SO03
Genealogy Dictionary home.att.net/~dottsr/diction.html SO97
Genealogy Planet www.home.earthlink.net/~genealogyplanet/ MJ01
Genealogy Spot www.genealogyspot.com MA01
Genealogy Today www.genealogytoday.com/ MA00
Genealogy.com www.genealogy.com SO01, MA02
GenealogyPro www.genealogypro.com ND04
Genes Reunited www.genesreunited.co.uk SO04
GeneToons www.genetoons.com SO04
Historical Census Browser fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/ SO97
International Black Sheep Society of Genealogists blacksheep.rootsweb.com/ SO98
JustGenChat www.looking4kin.com SO02
OurTimeLines.com www.ourtimelines.com/ MA02, JF03
RAND Genealogy Club www.rand.org/about/contacts/personal/Genea/ SO96
Strictly Rocky Mountain’s Ask-A-Genie www.strictlyrockymountain.com JA04
Surname Helper surhelp.rootsweb.com/srchall.html JA00
The News Stand www.siteone.com/clubs/mgs/newstand.htm MA02
The Olive Tree Genealogy olivetreegenealogy.com/index.shtml SO96
The Seeker www.the-seeker.com/ ND97
Treasure Maps: The How-to Genealogy Site amberskyline.com/treasuremaps/tmapmenu.html SO96
World Wedding Bells sweetblueroses.tripod.com/worldgen/worldgenwed.html JF02

Miscellaneous
Canadian Geographical Names geonames.nrcan.gc.ca/index_e.php ND96
Encyclopædia Britannica (no longer free) www.britannica.com/ JF00
Geographic Names Information System geonames.usgs.gov/ ND96
Heirlooms Lost www.heirloomslost.com/ JA01
Roman Numeral and Date Conversion www.guernsey.net/~sgibbs/roman.html MA00
What’s A Guinea www.deadline.demon.co.uk/wilkie/coins.htm MA00
World Pages www.worldpages.com/Index.aspx JF97
Your Past Connections www.pastconnect.com/ ND98

Research Aids
1895 U.S. Atlas (formerly 1895 Atlas) www.livgenmi.com/1895/ SO98, SO01
A Family History Questionnaire fcs.tamu.edu/aging/Family_History_Questionnaire.htm ND03
A to Z Marriages www.atozmarriages.com ND03
Acronym Server www.ucc.ie/cgi-bin/acronym/ MJ98, SO01
All the Web www.alltheweb.com ND02
AltaVista www.altavista.com/ SO96
American Memory’s Map Collections www.memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html MA01, SO01
America’s First Families www.linkline.com/personal/xymox/ MA03
Ancestors of My Grandparents www.web-access.net/~mim/ SO02
Ancestry (formerly Ancestry Hometown) www.ancestry.com/ JF98, SO01, ND01
Bob’s your Uncle, eh! genealogy.torontopubliclibrary.ca/ MA98
Brooklyn, New York Naturalizations www.jgsny.org/kingsintro2.htm MJ02
Burke’s Peerage and Gentry www.burkes-peerage.net MJ02, JF03
Cemetery Records Online www.internment.net MA02
Charts for Reference in Genealogy Research www.members.tripod.com/~Silvie/charts.html MJ01
Cimorelli Immigration Manifests Online www.cimorelli.com/safe/Shipmenu.htm MJ01
City Directories of the USA www.uscitydirectories.com SO02
Commonwealth War Graves Commission www.cwgc.org ND04
Cyndi’s List www.cyndislist.com/ MJ98, SO01
DistantCousin www.distantcousin.com JF01
DocumentsOnline www.documentsonline.pro.gov.uk MA04
Epodunk.com www.epodunk.com JA04
Everton’s Online Databases www.everton.com/reference/member-info.php ND01
Everything Smith www.everythingsmith.com JF03
Family Tree Legends SSDI Search www.familytreelegends.com/ssdi SO03
Family Tree of the Jewish People www.jewishgen.org/gedcom/ ND01
First Name Basis www.genealogytoday.com/names/first/basis.html JF98
Foreign “Given Name” Cross-Reference www.rootsweb.com/~scoconee/names.html JA99
FreeBMD freebmd.rootsweb.com/ JA99, SO01, ND01
GenCircles www.gencircles.com MA03
Geneabios www.geneabios.com JA02
Genealogical Tool Kit www.cslib.org/toolkit.htm JA02
Genealogy Abbreviations homepages.rootsweb.com/~sam/abbr.html JA98
Genealogy Finds www.genealogyfinds.com ND04
Genealogy Helplist helplist.org/ ND98
Genealogy Infocenter members.tripod.com/~Genealogy_Infocenter/ ND99
Genealogy Resources On The Internet www-personal.umich.edu/~cgaunt/gen_int1.html SO97
Genealogy Wales www.members.tripod.com/~Caryl_Williams/index-2.html JA01
GenealogyPortal www.genealogyportal.com/ SO99
GeneaNet www.geneanet.org JA97, ND01
General Land Office Records www.glorecords.blm.gov ND03
GenExchange (was Gen Exchange & Surname Registry) www.genexchange.org/index.php JA98, ND01
GenMaps www.freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~genmaps/ ND02
GENUKI Parish Locator www.genuki.org.uk/big/churchdb/search.html JA02
InGeneas www.ingeneas.com JF04
It Started as a Poole Genealogy Website www.angelfire.com/ab7/charlesandlouisa/home.html MJ03
iTools (formerly Research-It) www.itools.com/ JA98, SO01
Kentucky Vital Records Index www.ukcc.uky.edu/~vitalrec/ ND01
Land Record Reference www.ultranet.com/~deeds/landref.htm MA02
LandPrints www.landprints.com ND00
Leaving From Liverpool www.diduknow.info/emigrants/ MA04
Mobile Genealogy www.daddezio.com/mobile/ MA03
MyTrees.com www.mytrees.com ND01
NARA Archival Information Locator www.archives.gov/research_room/arc/ MA97
NedGen Ancestry Search Engine www.nedgen.com SO03
Obituary Depot www.daddezio.com/obituary/depot/ ND02
Ontario Census of 1871 www.archives.ca/02/020108_e.html ND01
Our Roots www.ourroots.ca SO03
Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness www.raogk.org ND00
Sites With Genealogical Source Material www.freespace.virgin.net/alan.tupman/sites/ JF 98, SO01
Social Security Death Index ssdi.genealogy.rootsweb.com/ ND96, ND01
Sources2Go.com www.sources2go.com MJ03
Surnames: What’s In A Name? www.geocities.com/Heartland/Estates/9347/surnamemeanings.html JF01
Switchboard www.switchboard.com/ SO96
Systran www.systransoft.com MJ04
The American History and Genealogy Project www.ahgp.org MA04
The Gene Pool www.rootsweb.com/~genepool/ SO97
The Genealogy Home Page www.genhomepage.com/ SO96
The Ogre www.cefnpennar.com/ JA01
The Olden Times www.theoldentimes.com JA02
The ROOTS-L Library www.rootsweb.com/roots-l/filelist.html MA99, SO00
The UK and Ireland www.genuki.org.uk/big/ SO01
The USGenWeb Project www.usgenweb.com/ JF97, SO00
TreEZy www.treezy.com MJ04
TribalPages www.tribalpages.com JF03
U.S. Surname Distribution www.hamrick.com/names/ ND96
US Census Bureau Name Files www.census.gov/genealogy/names/ JA03
Where to Write for Vital Records www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm MJ03
WorldConnect Project worldconnect.rootsweb.com/ ND01
Ysearch www.ysearch.org MJ04

Software
GenoPro www.genopro.com ND00
The Next Generation www.lythgoes.net/genealogy/software.php SO02

Specialized
1997 Summer Scholars Program www.marist.edu/summerscholars/97/ MA00, SO 01
19th Century Photography www.ajmorris.com/roots/photo/ ND98
Abramson Family Tree www.dvrbs.com/AbramisAbramsonFamilyTree.htm JF02
Ancestors (TV program) www.byubroadcasting.org/ancestors/ ND00
Ancestors from Norway homepages.rootsweb.com/~norway/ MA99, SO01
Ancestry — The Polish Connection freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~atpc/ MA04
Associated Daughters of Early American Witches www.adeaw.us JA03
BookFinder www.bookfinder.com MA03
British Genealogy www.british-genealogy.com JA04
British Home Children www.freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~britishhomechildren/ JF01
Canada Births Deaths & Marriages Exchange olivetreegenealogy.com/can/bdm/ontbirth_n.shtml MJ00
Canada GenWeb Project www.rootsweb.com/~canwgw/ ND98, SO00
Cemetery Do’s & Don’ts pages.cthome.net/hirsch/dodont.htm#SEAL JF99
Cemetery Junction www.daddezio.com/cemetery/ MA99
Christine’s Genealogy Website ccharity.com/ MA98
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/ ND97
Descendants of Charlemagne www8.informatik.uni-erlangen.de/html/chl-enter.html JF97
Diaspora Connections cwis.livjm.ac.uk/soc/families/ JF04
DNA Family Find www.identigene.com/SWIMX/Products/dff_main.asp ND02
Ellis Island www.ellisislandrecords.org SO01, ND01
Family Tales www.familytales.org JF04
Federation Of East European Family History Societies feefhs.org/ SO96
GenAttic www.genattic.com ND04
General Register Office for Scotland www.gro-scotland.gov.uk/ MJ98
German Roots: German Genealogy Resources www.germanroots.com JF99, SO01
iLoveLanguages (formerly Human Languages Page) www.ilovelanguages.com/ MJ97
Interment.net (formerly Cemetery Records Online) www.interment.net/Default.htm MJ00, JA04
Italian Genealogy Homepage italiangenealogy.tardio.com/ SO98, SO01
Jewish Records Indexing — Poland www.jewishgen.org/jri-pl MJ02
Kevin Duerinck Genealogy Page www.duerinck.com/mystory.html MJ01
List Of Executions — England 1606 Onward www.fred.net/jefalvey/execute.html ND96
Longwood’s Journey www.longwood.k12.ny.us/history/ MJ00
LookupUK.com www.lookupuk.com/ MJ00
Medieval English Genealogy www.medievalgenealogy.org.uk/ JA01
Migrations www.migrations.org/ JA00
Notable Women Ancestors www.rootsweb.com/~nwa/index.html MJ99
Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid www.islandnet.com/ocfa/ JF97
Passenger Lists On The Internet members.aol.com/rprost/passenger.html MA00
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/ MJ99
Pitcairn Island Web Site www.lareau.org/pitc.html SO96
Programme de recherche en demographie historique www.genealogy.umontreal.ca/en/ MJ02
Researching Russian Roots www.mtu-net.ru/rrr/ JF00
ScripTrans www.tranquility.net/~pwrigh01/ MJ03
Sephardim www.sephardim.com/ SO99
The Compass www.immigrantships.net/newcompass/pcindex.html JF00, SO01
The Crookses of Jamaica www.netcomuk.co.uk/~prcrooks/ ND02
The Gathering of the Clans www.tartans.com/ MA97
The Mansker Chronicles www.mansker.org/ JF98
The National Archives of Ireland www.nationalarchives.ie/ JF98
The Nature of Kinship anthro.palomar.edu/kinship/default.htm MA98
The Photography Collection photoswest.org/ MA99
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey www.oldbaileyonline.org ND03
The Search for the Elliott Bible www.elliottfamilybible.com/ SO04
WebGenes www.everingham.com/webgenes/ JA03
World Wide Cemetery www.cemetery.org/ JF97
Young Immigrants to Canada ist.uwaterloo.ca/~marj/genealogy/homeadd.html JF99


SUBSCRIBE

Original Site Design by Kawartha Graphics